Curtin Sarawak student branch wins IEEE Malaysia Section award

MIRI: The Institution of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) Student Branch of Curtin University, Sarawak Malaysia (Curtin Sarawak) recently came in second in the IEEE Malaysia Section’s ‘Best Student Branch Awards’.

Curtin Sarawak shared the second spot with Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM) with Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM) coming in first. Universiti Utara Malaysia (UUM) was placed equal third with Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM). There are presently 19 IEEE student branches throughout Malaysia.


Basil (right) and committee members at the 25th IEEE Malaysia Section Annual General Meeting in Putrajaya

Basil (right) and committee members at the 25th IEEE Malaysia Section Annual General Meeting in Putrajaya


The award was presented by Chair of IEEE Malaysia Section 2014 Associate Professor Norliza Mohd Noor at the 25th IEEE Malaysia Section Annual General Meeting held at Palm Garden Hotel, IOI Resort Putrajaya.

Attending the event were the President of IEEE Student Branch of Curtin Sarawak, Basil Andy Lease, and committee members Esther Kueh Yue Ning, Jason Ha Heng Teck, Chai Hong Feng and Yap Hean Ding Sheng.

They were accompanied by student branch advisor and senior lecturer in Curtin Sarawak’s Faculty of Engineering and Science, Dr. Garenth Lim King Hann. Dr. Lim is also a committee member of the IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society (EMBS) Chapter of the IEEE Malaysia Section.

Commenting on the event, Basil said it was a great opportunity for the committee members to expand their networks and exchange ideas with members of the other student branches.

“We are proud of the recognition the IEEE Malaysia Section has given us for our hard work and achievements in 2014. It has given us the impetus to strive even harder this year,” said Basil.

Acknowledging the achievements of the student branch, Dr. Lim extended his gratitude to its 2014 committee headed by Saaveethya Sivakumar and Sim Zee Ang for organising over a hundred events and projects over the past year.

The 2014 committee also comprises Cassandra Wong Yi Chyn, Chong Ping Ting, Vivien Chai Sze Khuin, Basil Andy Lease, Lilian Ung, Rexy Prakash Chacko, Felix Law Yi Dong, Nicole Chan Yu Lynn, Lim Wei Chang, Kiew Suk Qin, Jason Ha Heng Teck, Jong Shwu Ching, Wong Tze Jia, Nyim Choon Siong, Esther Kueh Yue Ning and Ng Chee Chin.

Among its most notable projects was the launch of the TECHmentor programme aimed at promoting technical knowledge amongst students of secondary schools in and around Miri.

The committee also organised study trips to Bario in the Kelabit highlands to study and analyse renewable energy sources there, including wind, hydro and solar energy projects funded by the government.

Another significant achievement was the appointment of the committee as the secretariat for the 2014 IEEE Conference on Biomedical Engineering and Sciences (IECBES) in December.

The IEEE Student Branch of Curtin Sarawak was established to inspire engineering students of Curtin Sarawak to reach their full potential in line with IEEE’s motto ‘To Foster Technological Innovation and Excellence for the Benefit of Humanity’.

For more information on the IEEE Student Branch of Curtin Sarawak, e-mail [email protected] or visit One can also visit its Facebook page at

For more information on Curtin Sarawak, visit its website at, its Facebook page at, Twitter profile at, YouTube channel at, or Instagram at

You may also like...

%d bloggers like this: